Secret Structure of Great Talks

March 26, 2013

Image

Nancy Duarte is an expert in presentation design and principal of Duarte Design, where she has served as
CEO for 21 years.

I’m always searching for creative ways of inspiring people, so when I heard Nancy Duarte present on my go-to source for educational learning Ted Talks,  I got excited.  “You have the most powerful device known to man,” said Nancy to a packed audience “and that’s an idea.”  In her talk she cites the Hero’s Journey, a metaphor I’ve been working with to write my own book “My Year In California.”

What I liked best about her presentation was when she overlaid her blueprint for two famous speeches: Martin Luther Kings “I Have A Dream” and Steve Jobs “Apple’s iPhone Introduction.”  She wept upon realizing that she cracked the code for what made these speeches inspirational.  I love these “aha” moments of transformation.  Nancy went on her own hero’s journey and emerged with the elixir—the delivery system she now uses to support her clients in learning to communicate their world-changing idea effectively.  Watch Nancy’s  Ted Talks presentation and get ready to be inspired.

One Response to “Secret Structure of Great Talks”

  1. Nancy Duarte Says:

    Aww, thanks so much for the kind words, Ingrid! 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed the TED talk. Best of luck writing your book – I know it’s not easy!


Leave a Reply

