Millennials Love To Share On Social Media

July 18, 2016

Share Icon

I’ve been asked to pitch ideas for a brand new online magazine that will launch soon.  Their target audience: millennials, young adults between ages 18 and 34.

According to Entrepreneur Magazine writer Sujan Patel, these millennials are diverse.  “Nearly 43 percent are non-white and roughly 25 percent speak a language other than English at home,” writes Patel.  “A good deal of millennials have never known a world without the Internet and social media.”

But what they do know is how to buy, collectively they wield $1.3 trillion in annual buying power.  A stat that captured my interest is roughly 95 percent of millennials say friends are the most credible source of product information.  So if you want to sell something to a millennial, you might want to plant the seed in their friend’s ear, then allow them to spread the word.

The online magazine that asked me to pitch ideas created a target audience analysis of the millennial sector, and I believe their research hits the mark.  Genius.  My favorite description: While they may not be directly seeking an “Ah-Ha” moment, they appreciate those experiences when they occur and are quick to share what they learned, enjoyed, or found entertaining with their social network.

Yes.  Again with the social sharing.  I get it.  Of course, as a social media strategist, that’s what I thrive on too.  I want to share all the great stuff I discover online.

Next step: select from a list of 25 categories the online magazine has generated that resonates with millennials.  I’m leaning toward adventure junkies, or travelers—something that will support lots of stunning photographs, a shareable story.  YOLO anyone?

Leave a comment